We oppose the Russian invasion of Ukraine and demand an immediate ceasefire.

We condemn in the strongest possible terms the unilateral use of military force by the Russian Federation against Ukraine beginning on February 24, 2022, as well as the violation of its sovereignty and international law, and the killing of both the Ukrainian military personnel and civilians by Russian armed forces. We demand that the Russian government immediately cease these actions. We also express our solidarity with all those who condemn these acts and demand their immediate cessation.

War is unacceptable from any academic standpoint. We extend our deepest sympathy to those affected by the conflict and demand the immediate and unconditional cessation of hostilities in Ukraine.

7th March 2022


Yoshida Atsushi (Chiba University)

Members of the board of the association (in alphabetical order)

Ebata Fuyuki (Niigata University)

Iijima Yoshihiro (Mie University)

Kato Hirofumi (Hokkaido University)

Nagayama Yukari (Kushiro Public University of Economics)

Ōnishi Hideyuki (Doshisha Women's College of Liberal Arts)

Watanabe Hibi (University of Tokyo)


Takakura Hiroki (Tohoku University)

Shiraishi Hidetoshi (Sapporo Gakuin University)

Nagasaki Iku (Nagoya University)

Oishi Yuka (Kobe University)

Inoue Takehiko (Slavic-Eurasian Research Center, Hokkaido University)

Matsumoto Ryo (Kobe City University of Foreign Studies)

Hiyama Tetsuya (Nagoya University)

Nakada Atsuhi (Hokkaido Museum of Northern Peoples)

Igaue Naho (Chuo University)

Tezuka Kaoru (Hokkai-Gakuen University)

Tanimoto Akihisa (Hokkaido University)

Kaji Hiromi (Meikai University)

Tomioka Kumiko (Nara University)

Taguchi Hiromi (Tohoku University of Art and Design)

Otsuka Kazuyoshi (Professor Emeritus of National Museum of Ethnology, Graduate University for Advanced Studies)

Sakon Yukimura (Niigata University)

Sesimo Masaya (Japana Esperanto-Instituto, The Uralic Society of Japan)

Tatsuzawa Shirow (Hokkaido University)

Fujiwara Junko (Kobe City University of Foreign Studies)

Inoue Koichi (Professor Emeritus of Hokkaido University)

Sasakhi Shiro (National Ainu Museum)

Ogihara Shinko (Professor Emerita of Chiba University)